Handicap Race

The Joyce Smith Memorial Rose Bowl & John Hearn Memorial Shield

The Handicap races are held on the First Monday of every month using two courses.

  • Winter Handicap (4 Miles) – October to March
  • Summer Handicap (4.9 Miles) – April to August

Registration takes place on the night of the handicap race at Kirkham & Wesham Cricket Club

  • Registration open from 6:15 pm to 6:30 pm
  • Handicap race starting at approximately 7.00 pm.

The first race of the series is a “mass start”. All the runners start off together and their times are recorded when they finish.

The following 11 races in the series are “staggered starts”. Start times are determined from each individuals course PB for that season. Anyone wishing to qualify for the end of year Handicap Champions Race will need to have completed at least two winter and two summer races.

The Trophy Race is the final race of the series. Each individuals precise start time will be calculated from the average of 4 best and worst results through the season. The first qualifying Man and Lady to cross the line will be declared the winners and will be presented with a Trophy and Prize. If everything goes to plan in the final race all the runners should finish together!!!!!!

Current Handicap Results

DateStart TimesFinish PositionsNet Positions
2nd Oct 23Mass StartResultsResults
6th Nov 23Start TimesResultsResults
4th Dec 23CancelledRoadworks
8th Jan 24CancelledRoadworks
5th Feb 24CancelledRoadworks
4th Mar 24Start TimesResultsResults
1st Apr 24Start TimesResultsResults
13th May 24Start TimesResultsResults
3rd Jun 24Start TimesResultsResults
1st Jul 24Start TimesResultsResults
5th Aug 24Start Times
TBCTrophy Race